China Car Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I'm new to the boards and have a strange request. I am a researcher for National Geographic Magazine in Washington, DC. I am researching China's driving culture, and I'd love to receive insight about it from you.

These are some of the things I'm looking for:
1. Names that Chinese drivers call their cars. Is there a popular trend (names of animals, women's names, etc.)?
2. Any pop songs written about cars lately?
3. Rituals about cars? Trinkets people like to keep in their cars (sort of like air fresheners or things hanging from rearview mirror in US)?
4. Are there any surveys of drivers you can point me too?
5. Are attitudes towards bicycles and public transportation changing, as more people are able to buy their own cars?
6. Women's attitudes toward cars. Does anyone have a photo of the Geely Maple Haixuan?

Thank you very much for your help.
Taryn Salinas

·
Registered
1,268 Posts
Hi Taryn, welcome to CCF:

re: question #1

Santana (a VW sedan) has become such a household word that it may become synonymous with car in some circles.

re: question #3

In the tradition of St. Christopher medals and statues in the West, Chinese drivers like to place small images of Chairman Mao at the center of their instrument panels. Pictures of him are hung from the mirror. The same goes for Buddhist images of Kuanyin, Amida, etc..
I guess Knot Craft (with tassles) is the Chinese equivalent of the old fuzzy dice hanging from the mirror.

re: question #4

Quality surveys are done by JD Power, and the Chinese Association of Quality does the China Auto Consumer Satisfaction Index Survey each year.

Here's another survey from:
the Hurun report at: http://www.hurun.net/indexen.aspx

Automobiles and Yachts:
Best Super Luxury Car for Self-Drive
Bentley Continental GT

Best Super Luxury Car For Business
Rolls-Royce Phantom

Best Luxury Sedan
Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Best Roadster
BMW Z Series