China Car Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I think this one of the greatest missed opportunity for the Chinese auto makers to get a foot hold in North America with exsisting plant and infrastructure, it was sold for a measly 5 billion. Frank Magna put up a bid for it for 3 billion, he would have become the first Canadian to own a major car company. The down side of this deal was that pensions were in the 30 billion mark.

·
Registered
547 Posts
I'm not an industry expert but I think Chrysler would have been too big of a challenge for Chinese. Chinese are not yet ready to make these kind of big investments, they are still learning how to build good cars. On the other hand Tata is keen to buy Jaguar/Land-Rover operations. Future will tell how well they succeed.

·
Registered
706 Posts
I thought Cerberus paid more like $7 Billion for Chrysler. They bought 80% of Chrysler for that and Daimler retains 20%.

I agree that Chrysler would be a large, risky buy for a Chinese carmaker to take on right now while learning full time as the Chinese are. Many Americans are even skeptical of buying a Chrysler product because of less than stellar reliability coming from them for years.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
^^^ is that your 2008 GTS ? I currently own a '03 Lancer and luvin it !

Waitng till the Chinese cars get here, don't like any cars here on the market for under $20,000. Mitsu is the only brand I will buy now because of low consumer knowledge about them pushing down their cost and resale value.

·
Registered
24 Posts
How Much Has Tata Improved

Raul said:
I'm not an industry expert but I think Chrysler would have been too big of a challenge for Chinese. Chinese are not yet ready to make these kind of big investments, they are still learning how to build good cars. On the other hand Tata is keen to buy Jaguar/Land-Rover operations. Future will tell how well they succeed.